Why No Straw?

No Straw Day

INTRODUCTION

 

No Straw Day

INTRODUCTION

Some people may think it is ‘a given’ for restaurants to have ice and drinking straws.

We ask for ‘no ice’ or even ‘less sugar’, but we almost never ask for ‘no straws’. Sometimes, things that are ‘a given’ are not always essential, but just a ‘habit’. The habit of using a plastic straw every time you consume a cold beverage has a huge negative impact on countless marine mammals. Furthermore, contaminants in plastic litter enter our food chain, ultimately damaging our health almost like ‘stabbing’ ourselves.

A video of a sea turtle with a foreign object lodged in its nostril went viral last year, receiving global attention regarding the detrimental impact plastic straws have on marine animals. The sea turtle got the foreign object removed by marine biologists, who pulled out a 10cm long plastic straw, causing excruciating pain for the turtle. Toxins and chemical in plastic litter are absorbed by marine animals and bio-accumulate through the food chain, affecting the overall ecosystem. Who’d have thought that such a seemingly disposable utensil could put a large burden on the environment?

VIDEO

 

Plastic straws are one of the top ten contributors to marine debris. Studies have shown that the average American uses 1.6 straws per day, adding up to a daily total consumption of up to 500 million straws a day. This is enough to circulate the earth two and a half times, which when you think about this happening every day in countries across the world, is a terrfiying thought. Once we finish consuming a beverage, the plastic straw becomes waste. It takes only 10 minutes to drink with a plastic straw, but 400-500 years for one to be broken down.

People say that it takes 21 days to form a new habit or to get rid of an one. All you have to do is take the first step. Starting from today, join in on the No Straw trend. When you eat out, say ‘No Straws, thanks’ to your waiter.

 

 

Back to top

為何「走飲筒」?

No Straw Day

關於

 

No Straw Day

關於

在餐廳裡,「冰」和「飲筒」好像是理所當然的存在。

我們可以「走冰」甚至「走甜」,卻幾乎不會想起「走飲筒」;有時候,理所當然不是一種「需要」,只是一種「習慣」──這個每次喝凍飲都配上塑膠飲筒的小習慣,卻讓無數海洋生物背負了你我難以想像的沉重代價。而依附於塑膠上的污染物亦因而進入食物鏈,最終損害我們健康,實是「筒」在它身,痛在你身。

塑膠飲筒對海洋生物造成的傷害,由年前一段於網絡瘋傳的影片開始備受社會各界關注─一隻海龜的鼻子遭異物阻塞,狀甚痛苦,最終被拔出的,竟然是一枝10公分長的塑膠飲筒,引起大眾反思。更甚的是,污染物被海洋生物吸收後,有機物會循食物鏈不斷累積,破壞生態系統。一件看起來自然不過的即棄餐具,竟對環境造成如此龐大的負擔。

影片

 

塑膠飲筒是地球十大海洋垃圾之一,有研究就指出,美國每人每日平均耗用1.6支飲筒,即每日總耗用量高達5億支,長度足以環繞地球兩周半,相當驚人。更甚的是,飲品喝過清光,飲筒瞬間變成垃圾,我們使用時間只十數分鐘,一支塑膠飲筒卻需要400至500年才能被分解。

有人說,培養一個新習慣至少需要21日;戒掉壞習慣,卻只需要踏出第一步。今天起加入我們一起推動無飲筒潮流,由細節入手,實踐減塑生活,出外點餐時不妨跟侍應說:「走飲筒吖,唔該!」

 

 

回到頁首