Giant Panda
  FAST FACT
Scientific Name:
Ailuropoda melanoleuca
IUCN Conservation Status
(Year Published):

Vulnerable (2016)
Endangered (1990, 1994, 1996 & 2008)
Estimated Wild population:
About 1,600
Life Span:
14-20 years (Wild)
Distribution:
Endemic to China's six isolated mountain ranges in three provinces of Sichuan, Shaanxi and Gansu

Giant panda, with a distinctive black and white coat, is the most iconic national treasure in China. The animal needs 4,300 to 5,500 kilocalories of food per day to survive, the equivalent of twenty bowls of rice or twenty hamburgers for humans. Their daily menu consists almost entirely of leaves, stems, and shoots of various bamboo species. Since bamboo contains very little nutritional value, pandas must eat 12 to 38kg of bamboos every day to meet their energy needs. Only about 1% of their diet is made up of other plants and meat.

Giant pandas are generally solitary that each adult has a well-defined home range. Encounters are rare outside the brief mating season in spring between March and May. Giant pandas reach sexual maturity at about 7.5 years old and they will attract their mate with scent-marking and bleating calls. Gestation takes about 95 to 160 days and wild pandas normally give birth to a single young. Tiny newborn giant pandas are pink in colour with short white hair, and weigh about 100g, which is about 1/900 the size of their mother. When they grow up, they can weigh up to about 100kg which is 1,000 times heavier than when they were born.

Giant panda cubs rely on its mother's care for a relatively long period after birth. Cubs acquire survival skills during this period, including walking and foraging through different seasons and landscapes. Giant panda leaves its mother at 3 years old and continue to roam until they find a suitable place to build their territories after gaining independence.

 
  WHY ARE THEY IMPORTANT?
The Iconic Umbrella Species

The giant panda is one of the better known and loved endangered species in the world and one of the most important symbols of wildlife conservation. They are also considered as an "umbrella species", which means that efforts to protect the species and its natural habitat will also protect the surrounding rich biodiversity – plants, landscapes and other species. For instance, the region where pandas live in Shaanxi is the home of a number of other endangered species, including the "endangered" golden snub-nosed monkey, the "near threatened" takin and the "critically endangered" crested ibis. All of them can benefit from the conservation measures to protect giant pandas.

  THREATS
Estimated Wild Population:
About 1,600 (2004)

IUCN Conservation Status:

Endangered    
EX
EW
CR
EN
VU
NT
LC
DD
 
CITES: Appendix I
Chinese Wildlife Conservation Law: Category 1
Degradation and Fragmentation of Habitats

Habitats of giant pandas are highly fragmented and are diminishing due to human activities, making it difficult for them to migrate to other bamboo groves for feeding or mating. Threatened by fragmented habitats, their short mating periods further reduces their chances of survival.

 
  WHAT OPCFHK IS DOING
Funding Giant Panda Conservation Projects

In 1999, the Hong Kong Society of Panda Conservation (HKSPC) was established by Ocean Park for giant panda conservation. In 2005, Ocean Park Conservation Foundation and HKSPC merged to form today's Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK). The giant panda has always been our focal species and we have funded dozens of giant panda conservation projects over the years. In 2012, the Foundation, forestry departments of Sichuan, Shannxi and Gansu signed a five-year framework agreement to strengthen giant panda conservation efforts by funding sciendivtific researches and conservation projects for giant pandas.

Establishing Giant Panda Rebuilding Fund

The earthquake of May 12, 2008 in Sichuan affected 83% of China's panda habitats, and over 500 km2 were completely destroyed (that is an area equivalent to 2,630 Victoria Parks in Hong Kong). The breeding centre in Wolong and some field stations were also destroyed, which has compromised patrolling and research activities. Roads and highways were likewise seriously damaged, making it harder to bring in essential supplies. The Foundation has established the Giant Panda Base Fund immediately after the incident, and has been supporting the rebuilding and other follow-up work.

 
  GET INVOVLED

Green Living!
Bring your own utensils when you dine out and avoid using disposable chopsticks when buying takeaway!

Join Friends of the Foundation
Please join Friends of the Foundation NOW! Every dollar you donate helps us save more threatened species, including our focal species the giant panda!

大熊貓
 概覽
學名:
Ailuropoda melanoleuca
保育狀況:
易危
野外數量:
約 1,600隻
壽命:
14-20 歲 (野生)
分佈:
中國獨有物種,分佈於四川、陝西及甘肅省內六個獨立的山脈中

大熊貓是中國獨有物種,獨特的黑白色與稀少數量奠定了其國寶地位。牠們每天需攝取4,300至5,500卡路里熱量,相等於20碗白飯、或20個漢堡包。牠們的主要食糧都是竹子,包括竹葉、竹莖和竹筍。由於竹子的養份低,成年大熊貓往往花很長時間進食。牠們一天要吃12至38公斤竹子才有足夠力量。至於其他植物或肉類,只佔牠們約1%的食物份量。

大熊貓是獨居動物,有自己的活動領域。因此除了三至五月的交配季節,野生大熊貓之間甚少交流。大熊貓一般於約7.5歲時性成熟,牠們會以嗚叫和留下嗅覺標誌等方法求偶。雌性大熊貓懷孕期為95至160日,通常只懷有一胎。大熊貓出生時是粉紅色的,只長有短短的白毛。初生熊貓的體型細小,平均重100克,約為其母親體重的900分之1。成年的大熊貓體重可達100公斤,比牠們剛出生時重1,000倍啊!

大熊貓出生後必須長時間依靠母親照顧,並在成長期間學習生存技巧,包括走路,及在不同季節和地型覓食等。大熊貓3歲開始才會離開母親,牠們獨立以後會到處流浪,直至找到合適地方建立自己的領域。

 
 大熊貓的重要性
標誌性的護傘物種

大熊貓是最多人認識並最受歡迎的瀕危物種之一,更是象徵著野生生態保育的旗艦物種。牠們被視為動物保育上的護傘物種,只要對大熊貓及其棲息地加以保護,就能夠保護到當地豐富的生物多樣性,包括植物和其他生物。例如陝西的大熊貓與其他物種分享共同生境,包括「瀕危」的川金絲猴、「易危」的羚牛和「極度瀕危」的朱鹮等,一些保育大熊貓的保育措施,如禁止代木,能直接令其他動物得益。

 威脅
野外數量:
約 1,600隻

世界自然保護聯盟瀕危物種紅色名錄保育狀況:

瀕危    
EX
EW
CR
EN
VU
NT
LC
DD
 
《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》:附錄一
棲息地受損及破碎化

大熊貓的棲息地因人類活動而減少或被分割開來,令牠們難以遷往其他竹林尋找食物或交配對象。加上牠們的繁殖期十分短暫,令大熊貓的存活更容易受棲息地破碎化的威脅

 
 保育基金的工作
撥款資助大熊貓保育項目

1999年,海洋公園成立「香港熊貓保育協會」,以保護大熊貓。及後於2005年與「海洋公園鯨豚保護基金」合併,成為今天的「香港海洋公園保育基金」。大熊貓多年來都是我們的重點保育物種,我們至今已過撥款支持數十項大熊貓的保育項目。保育基金更於2012年與四川省、陝西省及甘肅省的林業廳簽訂了《大熊貓震後重建工作五年框架協議》,承諾繼續資助多個大熊貓的科研及保育項目。

 
成立「大熊貓基地震後重建基金」

2008年5月12日的四川大地震影響遍及國內83%的大熊貓棲息地,其中超過500平方公里(相等於2,630個維多利亞公園的面積) 被毀,包括位於臥龍的繁育及研究中心以及多個野外監測站。道路及公路亦同樣受損,令運送物資倍加困難。保育基金當時立即成立「大熊貓基地震後重建基金」,至今一直以支持重建及其他後續工作。

 
 你如何幫助

綠色生活
出外用餐時自備餐具,或賣外賣時避免使用即用即棄的竹筷子,以減少浪費!

加入基金之友
請即加入「基金之友」,你所捐贈的一分一毫讓我們能幫助更多受威脅的物種,包括我們的重點保育物種大熊貓。