Indo-Pacific Finless Porpoise
  FAST FACT
Scientific Name:
Neophocaena phocaenoides
IUCN Conservation Status
(Year Published):

Vulnerable (2012)
Estimated Wild Population:
Unknown

Around 200 in Hong Kong and adjacent waters.

Around 1,300 in coastal waters of Bangladesh.
Life span:
30 years old at maximum
Distribution:
Coastal waters in the Indo-Pacific

Nicknamed as the "sea-pig", the finless porpoise looks round and chubby. They are grey in color and beak-less. The most distinct feature of the finless porpoise is that it lacks a dorsal fin. Instead, they have a wide (about 48 to 120mm wide) dorsal groove that begins just ahead of mid-back and extends to the tailstock.

Newborn calves are typically 65 to 85 cm in length, and can grow to as much as 200cm (average: 150-170cm) in length. Finless porpoises are usually found singly or in groups of up to about 10 individuals. The most common and numerically important prey species is the cephalopod, followed by the lion-head fish and the tiger-tooth croaker.

Finless porpoises can be found in the southern and eastern waters of Hong Kong. We can sometimes find them in areas between the southern side of Lantau Island and Lamma Island. It is estimated that there are about 200 finless porpoises in the Pearl River Estuary (including Hong Kong). However, this could probably be an underestimate as finless porpoises have no dorsal fin and are relatively shy. Also, they seldom approach boats or exhibit aerial behavior. Hence, they are very difficult to spot compared to Chinese White Dolphins.

 
  WHY ARE THEY IMPORTANT?
Indicator of the Ocean's Health

The conservation status of finless porpoises and Chinese white dolphins is a great indicator to assess the general health of Hong Kong's marine ecology, as both species reside in Hong Kong waters, in the heart of Hong Kong's intensive urban development. Their population, distributions, behaviours and survivorship provide valuable insights into the impacts of human activities on marine life, and the threats brought about by marine pollution and fishery equipment. Like other harbour porpoises and dolphins, finless porpoises are the apex predators in the food chain. They play a critical role in maintaining the balance of the marine ecology by controlling the number of other marine lives such as fishes and squids.

  THREATS

 

Estimated Wild Population:
Unknown.

Around 200 in Hong Kong and adjacent waters.

Around 1,300 in coastal waters of Bangladesh.

IUCN Red list of Threatened Species:

Vulnerable    
EX
EW
CR
EN
VU
NT
LC
DD
 

 

Fishing net entanglement

Finless porpoises can be entangled and killed by fishing nets or gears abandoned in the sea. We also found fishing hooks in their stomach, which demonstrated the adverse impacts of abandoning fishing gears in the sea on their well-being.

Habitat loss and disturbance

The habitats of finless porpoises is diminishing due to human activities and coastal development.

Marine traffic and pollution

Heavy marine traffic would affect the well-being of finless porpoise. We have found traumatized finless porpoises suspected to be injured by propellers. Marine pollution is also harmful to their health.

  WHAT OPCFHK IS DOING
Cetacean Stranding Response Team

About
Since 2006, Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) has been collaborating with Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) to investigate cetacean stranding cases in Hong Kong, while most cases involve finless porpoises and Chinese white dolphins.

Objectives
Samples collected from the stranded cetaceans provide us with important information about local cetacean, including age, sex, causes of death and accumulated organic pollutants, which enabled conservationists to better conserve the animals and their habitats.

 
Funding finless porpoise conservation projects

The Foundation has been funding finless porpoise research and conservation projects in Asia, such as studying the species’ population structure in the Pearl River Estuary, Japan and Malaysia.

  GET INVOVLED

 

Report stranding cases
If you encounter a stranding cetacean, regardless of whether the animal is dead or alive, please call 1823 to inform AFCD and provide your name, contact number and the following information:

  1. Date and time of discovery and the location
  2. Status of the stranded cetacean (alive, slightly or badly decomposed, etc.)
  3. Length of stranded cetacean and characteristics (e.g. any dorsal fins/ obvious rostrum, etc.)

Join Friends of the Foundation
Other than establishing the Cetacean Stranding Response Team, we strive to promote Asian cetacean conservation through scientific research, community education, as well as symposium and workshops. As a charitable trust, the Foundation needs your support. Ekin Cheng has joined the Friends of the Foundation, and so can you! Please support our conservation work by making a monthly or one-off donation. Join now!

Be a responsible dolphin watcher
Irresponsible or unregulated dolphin watching activities may cause disturbances and harassment to the animals in the wild. For example, some vessels would chase dolphins with high speed or intercept the course of dolphins, which increases the chance of collision or separating groups or mother and child. Please choose responsible and experienced dolphin-watching agencies and read and follow the code of conduct for dolphin watching before the tours.

Cherish our ocean
To protect cetaceans, we must protect their habitat as well so that they can live in a safe and healthy environment. When you engage in coastal or water sports and activities, like boat trips, sunbathing and scuba diving, please avoid using shampoo and shower gels on the boat, to avoid untreated chemicals entering the sea and polluting the marine environment. More importantly, please do not litter on the beach and in the sea. As for fishermen and fishing enthusiasts, please dispose used fishnets and other fishery gears properly and do not abandon them in the sea.

印度太平洋江豚
 概览
学名:
印度太平洋江豚
Neophocaena phocaenoides
保育状况:
易危
野外数量:
不详

香港及邻近水域约200条

孟加拉近岸水域:约1,300条
寿命:
最长可达约30岁
分布:
印度太平洋的近岸浅水区

被渔民称之为「海猪」的印度太平洋江豚看起来圆圆胖胖,全身灰黑色,没有突出的喙部,也没有背鳍;取而代之的是一条由背部中央前方延伸至尾柄部的宽大的背沟(约48至120毫米)。

初生的江豚体长约65至85厘米,成年可长达200厘米(一般150至170厘米)。它们的组群比较小,一般由独居至十只。鱿鱼、狮头鱼及银牙等都是它们喜欢的食物。

香港的江豚主要在香港东面及南面的水域出没,我们有时能够在大屿山南面至南丫岛一带看到它们的踪影,现时珠江口水域 (包括香港) 的江豚数量估计约200条。但由于它们没有背鳍,又比较害羞,不喜欢在空中跳跃或接近船只,故江豚是比中华白海豚较难观测。正因如此,江豚的实际数量可能远高于估计数量。

 
 江豚的重要性
海洋健康状况的指标

江豚和中华白海豚的栖息地正是香港城市建设的重心,其数量、分布、行为及存活情况有助我们了解人类活动对海洋生物造成的影响,更是评估香港海洋生态健康的一个重要基准,包括海水污染情况和渔业资源的多少。另外,江豚与其他鼠海豚和海豚一样,都是食物链中的顶级捕食者,对控制鱼类和乌贼等海洋生物,及维持生态平衡扮演非常重要的角色。

 威胁
野外数量:
不详

香港及邻近水域约200条

孟加拉近岸水域:约1,300条

世界自然保护联盟濒危物种红色名录保育状况:

近危    
EX
EW
CR
EN
VU
NT
LC
DD
 

 

被渔网误缠

江豚会因被俗称『鬼网』的弃置渔网或渔具缠绕致死;我们亦曾于解剖时在海豚胃部发现渔钩,可见胡乱弃置渔具会对它们造成威胁

栖息地受损及流失

江豚的栖息地受到人类活动和沿岸建设的影响而逐渐消失

海上交通及水质污染

繁重的船运会江豚造成影响。我们曾发现伤痕累累或有严重创伤的江豚尸体,怀疑由船只螺旋桨造成。同时,海水污染也有机会影响海豚的健康。

 保育基金的工作
鲸豚搁浅行动组

简介
保育基金自2006年5月开始,与香港渔农自然护理署(渔护署)合作,跟进香港水域内的鲸豚搁浅个案,当中主要为江豚和中华白海豚

目的
掌握有关本地鲸豚的重要资料,包括年龄、性别、死因,和积存有机污染物等,以更有效地保育江豚及其栖息地

 
拨款资助江豚保育项目

保育基金多年来一直拨款资助亚洲区内的江豚研究和保育工作,包括在珠江口、日本及马来西亚等地研究江豚的种群结构

 你如何帮助

 

热心举报
市民如发现搁浅鲸豚,无论生死,请即致电1823鲸豚搁浅热线,向香港渔农自然护理署提供你的姓名、联络电话及以下资料:

  1. 发现日期、时间及地点
  2. 搁浅鲸豚的情况(存活、轻微或严重腐烂等)
  3. 搁浅鲸豚的体长及特征(是否有背鳍和突出的嘴喙)

 

加入基金之友
除了成立「鲸豚搁浅行动组」,我们一直致力透过科学研究、社区教育、研讨会议及工作坊等推动亚洲区内的鲸豚保育工作。保育基金作为一个慈善信讬基金,极需要你的支持。郑伊健都已经加入了基金之友,你也可加入基金之友,透过月捐或单次性捐款,支持我们的保育工作。请即加入

负责任的观豚
不负责或不受监管的观豚活动会为野生中华白海豚或其他鲸豚带来滋扰,例如有些观豚船只会高速追逐海豚,或穿越它们游弋的路线,有机会撞伤它们,或分开海豚母子或群体。请选择负责任而具经验的观豚机构、在出海观豚前阅读「观豚守则」并好好遵守!

爱护海洋
保护鲸豚,当然也须保护它们的栖息地,让它们能在一个健康和安全的环境下生活。大家到海边游玩或进行水上活动时,如游船河、到泳滩晒太阳和潜水等,特别是在珊瑚区附近,应尽量避免在船上使用洗头水、淋浴露和太阳油,以免未经处理的化学物直接流入海洋污染环境。当然,千万不要在海上或泳滩乱抛垃圾;而渔民或钓鱼人士也应妥善处理用完的渔网及其他渔具,切勿随意弃于海上。